Summer plans

First, I liiiiiivvvvvvveeeee! If you don’t get the reference, watch Mulan. The hectic semester is over and the grades are slowly trickling in. One of my classes, Introduction to Theory of Computation, was one of the harder classes I’ve ever taken and if I’m being honest, I would have to say I’m glad it is over. My conservative prognosis is 2 A’s (barring complete idiocy on my part), an A- and a wildcard grade belonging to the aforementioned course.

So, my spring semester is done and my summer is about to begin. Alas, I will still be doing actual work. However, I am truly excited about this internship I am about to embark on. I am so excited but thinking about what I’ll be working makes me nervous & makes me feel like an impostor. Thankfully, all my attention this summer will be focused on the work at hand and I hope to take full advantage of the free training sessions & picking the brains of those smarter than I. I suspect I’ll be wading knee-deep in C/C++ code and I’m weirdly excited. After taking Systems Programming this Spring, I can read C/C++ code but writing it is probably one of my weak spots. If C/C++ is my project’s requirement, then I welcome the chance to be able to hone my C/C++ skills. 

Also, I decided to reach out to a classmate of mine to voice one of my secret goals/dreams i.e. write an Android app and/or publish it. He responded enthusiastically and so the plan is for us to check in on each other over the summer and shame (if needed) him/me into action. 🙂 I’d appreciate any extra shaming from the 1 or 2 people who read this blog as well. 

Lastly, I’m super proud of UGA’s students. Here are some of the places my Computer Science peers are going: Apple, Motorola, ThyssenKrupp, McKesson, etc. I was accepted into Intel’s IRISE internship program so that’s where I’ll be.  I’m in debt to Intel’s US Intern Program manager, Burke Walls, for taking a chance on me and I’m ready to rock ‘n roll. I’d love to know what everyone else is up to so drop a comment about what your summer plans are! 

Leave a Reply

