Some Resources for Learning Java

In my quest to learn more about Java, here are some sites that I’ve found to be of use to me:

  1. The Java 7/6 API documentation – learn to love this site. You’ll refer to it endlessly as you run into problems or need to find methods for a task.
  2. The Java Tutorials – by Oracle. I found this helpful while reviewing for tests. You can also download them to your computer.
  3. Leepoint.net – by Professor Fred Swartz. You can view the notes online or download them to your computer.
  4. Training sites like ElementK. ElementK is not a free site but I have access to their huge library of training materials via my school. So make sure you browse your Computer Science Department homepage for hidden gems like free software for students and free training resources. If your school has a “student hub” (my school has one powered by uPortal which is where I learned about the free training), start your search there.

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

